Support Services

Hopkins Public Schools offers responsive support for scholars through our Special Services department. 

These service are provided by multiple individuals who are experts in their fields, including:

  • Speech and Language Pathologists
  • Social Workers
  • Psychologists
  • Developmental Adaptive Physical Education (DAPE) Teachers
  • Work Experience/Handicapped Coordinators
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Physical Therapists

 

Services Offered:

A teacher helps a student make a measurement.

Questions? See contact listings below. Or, contact Joan Opitz, office manager: Joan.Opitz@HopkinsSchools.org, 952-988-4042.

Special Services by Location in the District

Special Education services are offered at all sites in grades K through age 21. Service Providers may include: Speech-language Pathologists, Social workers, Occupational Therapists, Physical Therapists, Teacher for deaf/hard of hearing students, and Special Education Teachers.

Services include special education and supports for: mild/moderate Emotional Behavioral Disorder (EBD), Other Health Disabilities, Speech/Language Disorder, Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Physical/Health Disabilities (P/HD), and Developmental Cognitive Delay (DCD). Developmental Delay  and Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) services are offered at all elementary sites as well as at Harley Hopkins Family Center for students age birth-5. 

Specialized Federal Setting III programs are site specific for students with more severe needs requiring 60% or more of their day in special education.

  ECSE ASD DCD EBD P/HD
Alice Smith        
Eisenhower, XinXing, Juntos        
Gatewood      
Glen Lake      
Meadowbrook      
Tanglen      
North Junior High        
West Junior High      
Hopkins High School  

 


Hopkins Public Schools H logo.

Special Services Contacts

Fhonda L. Contreras

Director of Special Services

Email: Fhonda.Contreras@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4041  

Jennifer Muller

Early Childhood Special Education Lead

Email: Jennifer.Muller@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-5036

Carl Yancy

High School & Pavilion Special Education Lead

Email: Carl.Yancy@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4482

Brian Stanley

Assistant Director of Special Services

Email: Brian.Stanley@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4319

Lori Lorenz

Elementary Special Education Lead

Email: Lori.Lorenz@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4173

Stephanie Herrera

District McKinney-Vento Liaison

Email: Stephanie.Herrera@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4051

Joan Opitz

Office Manager

Email: Joan.Opitz@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4042

Rande Peyton

Junior High Special Education Lead

Email: Rande.Peyton@HopkinsSchools.org

Phone: 952-988-4695